The OLD FREES' ASSOCIATION SINGAPORE

76 Cardiff Grove, Singapore 558942

NOTICE is hereby given that the 58th Annual General Meeting of The Old Frees' Association Singapore ("OFAS") will be held on **Wednesday**, 16th **December 2020 at 6.30 pm** by way of electronic means.

AGENDA

- (1) To consider and to approve the minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting held on 21st October 2019
- (2) Report by Mr. Cheah Wee Teong, President, on the affairs of the Association for 2019/20
- (3) To receive the Hon. Treasurer's Report for the year ended 30 June 2020
- (4) To elect a Management Committee for 2020/21
 Rule 13. A Management Committee (MC) shall be elected at each Annual General Meeting
 (AGM) to conduct the affairs of the Association. It shall comprise a President, a VicePresident, a Secretary, a Treasurer and five ordinary MC members.
- (5) To elect an Honorary Auditor
- (6) Any other matters

 Under Rule 20, the meeting shall consider items brought up by any member for which at least seven clear days' notice had been given to the Honorary Secretary.

By Order of the Management Committee

Philip Ling Honorary Secretary 25th November 2020

Notes relating to measures to minimise the risk of Covid-19

Due to the Covid-19 social distancing rules, this year's Annual General Meeting ("AGM") will be held via electronic means. To facilitate the conduct of the AGM via electronic means, a Member must pre-register by 6.30 p.m. on 14th December 2020 by providing his/her email address to wtcheah@gmail.com or plsh12@gmail.com

Following authentication of his/her status as a Member of OFAS, the Member will receive an e-mail on the joining instructions for the AGM.

Minutes of 57th Annual General Meeting of the Old Frees' Association, Singapore held on Monday, 21st October 2019 at 6.45pm at Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore, King's Room, Lobby Level, 403 Havelock Road, Singapore 169632

Present:

Please see list of members on Page 4.

1. Welcome

Upon confirmation by the Secretary that we had a quorum, the President, Mr. Cheah Wee Teong, called the meeting to order at 6.45 pm.

The President welcomed all members to the AGM and thanked them for their presence and their support for Old Frees' Association, Singapore ("OFAS").

2. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 23 November 2018

The minutes of the previous AGM was duly approved by members as a correct record of the proceedings transacted thereat.

The minutes were proposed for adoption by Mr. Gabriel Teh and seconded by Dr. Alex Ooi. As there was no objections from the Members, the minutes were duly approved.

3. Report by the President

The President did a slide Presentation on the year in review. He touched on the various OFAS activities in the past year such as:

- (i) CNY Lunch & Talk (February 2019)
- (ii) Morning Hike Mac Ritchie (April 2019)
- (iii) Happy Hour (June & Sept 2019)

4. Report by the Honorary Treasurer

On behalf of the Hon. Treasurer, Mr. Cheah Wee Teong, presented the accounts for the financial year ended 30 June 2019.

This year's financial statements are a simple and straightforward set of accounts. OFAS is in accumulated funds position and cash balance stood at S\$18k as at 30 June 2019.

OFAS made a small surplus of S\$2,313 from the 21 Oct 2018 dinner where the Penang Chief Minister, YAB Chow Kon Yeow was the guest of honor. Proceeds from the sale of the Coffee Table Book amounted to S\$159. The Association incurred a small deficit of

S\$72 from the CNY Lunch & Talk in February 2019. Overall, OFAS made a surplus of S\$2,340 for the year ended 30 June 2019.

The report was proposed for adoption by Mr. Cheah Hock Leong and seconded by Prof. Lee Eng Hin. The Treasurer's Report was duly approved by the Members.

5. Election of the Management Committee for 2019/20

Election of President:

Mr. Philip Ling proposed that Mr. Cheah Wee Teong be re-elected as President. Mr. Gabriel Teh seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, Mr. Cheah Wee Teong was duly elected as the President.

Election of Vice-President

Prof. Lee Seng Teik proposed that Mr. Goh Keat Jin be re-elected as Vice-President. Dr. Alex Ooi seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, Mr. Goh Keat Jin was duly re-elected as the Vice-President.

Election of Secretary

Prof. Lee Seng Teik proposed that Mr. Philip Ling be re-elected as Secretary. Dr. Alex Ooi seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, Mr. Philip Ling was duly re-elected as the Secretary.

Election of Treasurer

Prof. Lee Seng Teik proposed that Mr. Johnny Ong be re-elected as Treasurer. Dr. Alex Ooi seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, Mr. Johnny Ong was duly re-elected as the Treasurer.

Election of Management Committee Members

Mr. Cheah Wee Teong proposed that the following be elected/re-elected as members of the Management Committee:

Mr. Sanjiv Sharma

Mr. Lim Chong Hoo

Mr. Jeff Yeo Nai Kwang

Prof. Alan Tan Khee Jin

Dr. Jeevendra Kanagalingam

Dr. Alex Ooi seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, the above five persons were duly elected/re-

elected as members of the Management Committee.

6. Election of an Honorary Auditor for 2018/19

Mr. Cheah Wee Teong proposed that Mr. Gabriel Teh Choo Thok be re-elected as

Honorary Auditor. Dr. Alex Ooi seconded the proposal.

As no other candidates were proposed, Mr Gabriel Teh Choo Thok was duly re-elected as

the Honorary Auditor.

7. Any Other Matters

The President said that the Secretary did not receive any items for discussion at the AGM.

8. Termination

The meeting ended at 7.53pm with a vote of thanks to the President as Chairman of the

meeting.

Minutes taken by: Mr. Philip Ling

Approved by: Mr. Cheah Wee Teong

Page 3 of 4

List of Members Present:

Life Members

- 1. Alex Ooi Koon Hean
- 2. Lee Eng Hin
- 3. Cheah Hock Leong
- 4. Gabriel Teh Choo Thok
- 5. Jeff Yeo Nai Kwang
- 6. Alan Tan Khee Jin
- 7. Philip Ling Soon Hwa
- 8. Khaw Teik Kooi
- 9. Khoo Hoon Eng
- 10. Lee Seng Teik
- 11. Sreenivasan Iyer

Ordinary Members

- 12. Cheah Wee Teong
- 13. Lim Chong Hoo
- 14. Lee Ren Gee
- 15. Sanjiv Sharma
- 16. Vincent Khoo
- 17. Khong Yuen Foong
- 18. TQ Lim
- 19. Khoo Soo Keat
- 20. Cheah Sin Boon
- 21. Tho Lye Keong
- 22. Devendra Kanagalingam
- 23. Goh Swee Hock

By Invitation:

24. Kung Teong Wah (General Manager of Copthorne King's Hotel Singapore)